Skip to content

Rice Maker Quinoa or: How I learned to stop measuring and love the brussel sprout.

August 28, 2012

For some unknown reason I decided to buy a huge bag of brussel sprouts at the store. Really, it was an excellent marketing job on Hy-vee’s part. They will always put the veggie of the moment in bags so lazy people like me don’t have scoop their own green beans…or brussel sprouts. The result is genius: I end up buying more than I need (they always stuff the bags super full) and I don’t have to do any work.

Usually I am very good about planning out meals and only buying the ingredients I need. Needless to say the sprouts were a complete impulse buy and I found myself a day later trying to figure out what meal I could make with them. That’s when it hit me: Quinoa. So, I decided to make up a dish with quinoa and brussel sprouts. It’s very easy and delicious.

By the way….did you know that this is how brussel sprouts grow?

https://i0.wp.com/culinariablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/brussels-sprouts1.jpg

ridiculous, right? I totally want some of those for my future garden.

Asian Fusion Quinoa and Brussel Sprouts:

Feeds: 2 people. Total Time: 45 minutes-ish

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup Quinoa
  2. 4 cups Brussel Sprouts
  3. 4 tbs Olive Oil
  4. 1/2 an Onion chopped (I used a red onion to add some color, but you can use any type)
  5. 1/4 cup Soy Sauce
  6. 2 tbs Mustard (preferably brown)
  7. Salt and pepper to taste

Recipe:

  • Soak quinoa for five minutes.
  • Put quinoa in the rice maker with 2 cups of water and 2 tbs of olive oil. Turn on. (The beauty of rice makers is that they decide how long it cooks, so you can leave it completely unattended and catch up on the latest Vogue)
  • Start preparing the brussel sprouts. Do this by cutting off the bottom and slicing the sprout in half. It will cook more evenly this way.
  • While you are cutting up the sprouts, bring the other 2 tbs of olive oil to medium temperature in a skillet. Once hot, add the oinon. Cook for a couple of minutes until the onion starts to soften and become clear.
  • Add your brussel sprouts to the skillet. I like to wait about 5 minutes in order to let the sprouts brown a little. Then stir in the mustard and soy sauce. Cover and let steam. You can add or detract liquid as you feel necessary. Cook until the sprouts are tender (or easily puncture-able)
  • Remove skillet from stove. Add to Quinoa in a large bowl. Add salt, pepper, and soy sauce to taste. I am a huge soy sauce fan, so I used much more than it describes in this recipe. Enjoy!

Here’s a little picture story for all you visual learners:

CIMG0123CIMG0124

Raw organic quinoa I bought in bulk.                       Soaking the Quinoa

CIMG0125CIMG0127

Chop chop chop

CIMG0128CIMG0129

Quinoa before and during the cooking process.

CIMG0132CIMG0133

In the skillet

CIMG0136

The finished product!

Side notes:

I actually made enough food for 4 or 5 people. Let’s just say I got a little carried away with the quinoa and decided I need to make all 16 oz of it. And I felt the need to make the whole huge bag of brussel sprouts. That’s why it looks like there is so much more food in the pictures than the recipe calls for…because there is. 

This whole dinner was also an experiment with the rice cooker. Usually I only cook rice in my rice cooker, but I decided to rebel last night. Well, I guess I should say that laziness rather than the thrill of rebellion was the driving force,  but either way it works. Basically, I learned a very important thing: cooking quinoa is the exact same as cooking rice, except it gets exponentially larger. So, when I cooked 16oz of the stuff, my rice maker actually started overflowing. If you want to make more than 1 cup of quinoa: a) do it on the stove with a big pot or 2) do it in a bigger rice maker.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 2:21 pm

    Thats a great idea. I love sprouts stir fried and finished with sesame seed oil and a few seeds. I’ll have to give this a go. I’m really enjoying this dish at the moment
    http://herbifit.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/jerk-tempeh-with-coconut-quinoa/
    with coconut quinoa.
    Mark
    http://herbifit.wordpress.com

    • August 28, 2012 2:37 pm

      Hey Mark!
      Thanks for stopping by. I would like you to know that I have a very love/hate feeling with your comment. I hate it: because I totally checked out your recipe and between that and your mentioning stir fried sprouts I am now craving both things lunch, and it’s only 9:34am. I love it: because it sounds utterly delicious and I will def. have to give it a try. ~Leslie

      Ps. Love your Fat to Fit part of your blog! I don’t even know you, but you are awesome! Congratulations.

      • August 28, 2012 4:44 pm

        Well thank you 🙂
        Hope you enjoy the recipe – let me know if it works for you. I’d love feedback.

Leave a Reply

