Skip to content

Won-Ton Mushroom Ravioli and Pea Pureé or Adult Baby Food

September 3, 2012

I’m not going to lie…sometimes I get a little carried away with my food processor. I’ve lived so long without a really good food processor, that I may be over-using it now that I have one. Whatever, I’m not ready to stop yet.

The new recipe I tried out was from Vegetarian Time’s Cookbook Edition. The dish is called Mushroom ravioli and pea puree. I altered it a bit (as I do all recipes) and you can find my version below:

Won-Ton Mushroom Ravioli and Pea Pureé

Total time: 45minutes (I don’t really know why it took this long…but it did). Feeds: 2 people

Ingredients:

  • One 8oz package of mushrooms (what kind you get isn’t too important because you will be pulverizing them)
  • Half a sweet onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbs of olive oil
  • 2 cups of frozen peas- thawed out
  • 2 tbs parmesan cheese (optional)

Recipe:

  1. Start heating up the 2 tbs of olive oil over a medium-hot skillet. While this is happening, cut up your onion and garlic.
  2. When oil is hot, add onion and garlic. Stir for 3-5 minutes or until onions are clear. Next add the (washed!!) mushrooms and cook for 5-10 minutes. I set my frozen peas next to the burner to help them thaw out.
  3. Once mushrooms are finished cooking, put them into a food processor and pulverize. I hate the texture of mushrooms, so I literally turned it into baby food.
  4. Transfer the mushroom mixture into the fridge for cooling while you handle the peas.
  5. Make sure that your peas have been properly thawed. Put the peas along with some salt, pepper, a touch of olive oil, and cheese (if you want) into the food processor. Pulverize. Set aside until later.
  6. Now take the cooled mushroom mixture and the won-ton wrappers. I set up a whole little station to help this assembly line process go faster. Essentially, you take a wrapper and lay it on the prep plate. Add 1 tbs of mushroom to the center of the won-ton. Using your fingertips, wet the edges of the wrapper that will be put together. Fold over. Wet those same edges again (this will cause the wrapper to stay stuck shut). You can leave them as triangles, or you could fold them into little envelopes (which is what I did). Use a separate plate to hold all of your ready-to-be-cooked ravioli.
  7. Once all of the mushroom mixture is used up, start a large pot of boiling water. You will literally cook the won-ton ravioli the exact same as any other ravioli. Place about 6 won-tons in the boiling water. Stir once to keep them from sticking to the bottom. When they rise to the top, carefully take them out.
  8. While you wait for the ravioli to cook, put the peas in a small saucepan and bring to medium heat. You are basically just warming up the baby food here. I then spread out the puree onto two plates. I added finished ravioli to the top and voila! (really super delicious) adult baby food!

CIMG0134

Some of the ingredients

CIMG0135CIMG0138

Left: while cooking. Right: mushrooms after pulverizing

CIMG0139

After I made my pea puree, I just left it on the stove until I wanted to heat it up.

CIMG0140CIMG0141

The won-ton filling station

CIMG0142CIMG0144CIMG0145

FYI: Won-tons will get bigger after cooking!!!

CIMG0147

…waiting for fallen peas to play with

CIMG0149CIMG0148

Cooking the raviolis

CIMG0151

almost finished!

CIMG0152

Beautiful!! (I sprinkled fake parmesan cheese on the top of my finished product)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

