Skip to content

New Decorating Adventures

November 29, 2012

I am quite embarrassed that I haven’t posted anything recently. Over the past 3 weeks, my husband and I have completely picked up and moved everything to a small town in Western New York State. Needless to say, this wasn’t easy…so I’ve been a bit preoccupied. On the upside, I am in my new home and there are boxes everywhere (well- I’m not sure if you can call that an upside).

What does a new home mean? Oh yeah, you guessed it, a new decorating challenge. So here’s the main challenge: we are going from a 900 square foot apartment to a 2700-3000 (I probably should know this) square foot house. Luckily, I’m a total furniture hoarder, and I can actually fill out this house enough to make it not look totally pathetic.

Stay tuned as I completely redecorate the house. We are renting, therefore, I’m not going to do some things that I would do if I were buying. All the changes will be purely cosmetic.

Here’s a couple preview pics to get started:

Fredonia 017Fredonia 019

left: outside of house, right: front stairs (the woodwork is beautiful!)

Fredonia 022

Front living space

Fredonia 025

Ridiculously huge dining room. Challenge? Try to keep this room from eating my dining room table.

Fredonia 027

Wood burning fireplace in den

Fredonia 032

Cool and also kind of creepy bulter’s pantry. Makes the low-functioning kitchen much more manageable.

Fredonia 036

Kitchen. If I owned this house, I would probably gut the kitchen. Look how tall those cabinets are!! My husband is 6’2” and is standing on his toes!

Fredonia 041Fredonia 043Fredonia 045

Left: hall, Middle: Bedroom that I’m going to make into a personal dressing room closet, Right: Only full bath.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

