Skip to content

Give the Lentils Some Love

December 6, 2012

Or don’t give them any love…which is what I did when I tried out this Southern Living recipe: Warm Lentil and Potato Salad. You can find the original recipe here. My version below is just a vegan adaptation. I also didn’t have any lentils, so I used green peas instead- hence the lack of love in the lentil department.

This is the perfect salad because it’s light but also filling. Kind of like an amped up, hearty tabouleh. It would work equally well as a side dish or the main event. This particular night, we used it as the main dish and put it over a ginger rice.

Warm ‘Lentil’ and Potato Salad

Time: 50 minutes. Feeds: 4 people

Ingredients:

    • 8 small red potatoes
    • one small onion- diced (I choose a red one for the color)
    • 4 ribs of celery
    • 4 cloves of garlic (I looove garlic. If you don’t, I would only put in one or two cloves)
    • 1/2 dried green lentils (or I used green peas)
    • 3 tbs olive oil
    • 2 tbs fancy mustard of your choosing (I like the hearty dijons)
    • 2 tbs balsamic vinaigrette
    • 1 bundle flat leafed parsley

Recipe:

  1. Chop the potatoes. But into a large pot of boiling water. Cook until tender.
  2. Wash lentils/peas. Bring 4 cups water to a boil and add lentils/peas. Simmer until peas are tender.
  3. While the peas and potatoes are cooking on the stove…start chopping! Chop the celery into 1/2 inch segments. Dice the onion and garlic.
  4. Heat up the olive oil in a large skillet. Add the shallots, celery, and garlic and cook until shallots are clear. Add the mustard to the skillet. Cook for 1 more minute.
  5. Chop up all the parsley. I wanted mine to be more green than SL’s so I went heavy on the parsley. Put in the serving dish.
  6. Add the shallots, celery, garlic, potatoes, and lentils/peas to the parsley. Add in the 2 tbs balsamic vinaigrette (also feel free to add some more olive oil here) to the parsley mixture. Stir well. Voila! Tu est fini!

Serve as a side dish, or as a main dish over a grain (rice, wheatberries, quinoa).

CIMG0214

Doing my chopping while the potatoes and peas were cooking. As you can see, I have my ginger rice cooking in the rice maker at the same time.

CIMG0215CIMG0216

After pictures. You can serve this dish immediately, but it’s better if it’s had a little bit of time to soak in the flavors.

CIMG0218

Dinner time!

CIMG0219

One more close up. This dish was so easy to make and so delicious. The ginger rice was a nice touch. For that, I essentially added in fresh ground ginger to the rice while it was cooking. The more ginger the better!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

