Skip to content

Skinny Tortilla Soup

January 9, 2013

I just felt like writing everything out today for this recipe. My apologies for any misspellings or typos (I see one already…and should those really be called ‘writeos’ if you aren’t typing?). That’s the agony of paper for you.

Regardless,  I made this soup last night and it is truly fantastic. I recommend starting with the amounts of spices, etc that I have here and altering it if you want more. [for example: I really like cumin, so I amped that up more].

The best part about this soup is that it has very few calories and tastes like it has much more. It’s also nice that it doesn’t take that long.  This is a favorite of my husband, so don’t fear feeding it to a finicky* spouse or child**. I [obvs] don’t eat meat, but I think this would be good with chicken. I served it with a spinach salad to up my green leaf intake for the day. Smile Enjoy!

*My husband is actually not finicky at all. He will eat whatever I give him [ex: “Peanut Butter and Jelly tonight for supper honey!”, “Great!!”]. But he does really love this soup.

**If you are feeding this to a younger child, I would probably dial back the jalapenos. They make it pretty spicy.

 

File-1

 

Steps

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2013 6:02 pm

    I’m so impressed with the way you presented this recipe! I’m having my fiancee make this!!

  2. Anca permalink
    January 11, 2013 8:40 pm

    Love it! 🙂

  3. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 13, 2013 10:13 pm

    I will be trying this this week, we LOVE tortilla soup and a veganized recipe makes it perfect for me, luckily my family isn’t picky and they will probably like it, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

