Skip to content

(Almost) Raw Key Lime Pie

February 14, 2013

In my opinion, there are really only two food groups worth ever mentioning: a) Lasagna and b) Pie. If all I had was pie and lasagna to eat for the rest of my life, I think I would be the happiest person alive. Today’s recipe focuses on the second of those two groups: pie. My all time favorite pie is Strawberry. All others are my second favorite. Every summer (SL jumped the gun this year with their Feb. issue cover –below) my Southern Living or Better Homes and Gardens showcases ice box pies.

https://i0.wp.com/img4-3.southernliving.timeinc.net/i/2013/02/cover/february-cover-cm.jpg

Usually, I flip through the recipes and sigh heavily after concluding that it is very hard to veganize an ice box pie (usually eggs or some custard like substance is the filling). Ironically, not too long after this edition came out, I received a text from a friend that went something like this: “Raw key lime pie! It involves avocados. I’ll tell how you it turns it”. The message was accompanied by a picture of a bright green ice box pie, to which I responded later, “OMG I want some so bad,  is the recipe online?”.

Turns out there are a  number of recipes online. Just google “Raw key lime pie”. The recipe I adopted my version from was from My Vegan Planet. This pie is seriously good and is a great way to trick your kids into eating avocados.

(Almost) Raw Key Lime Pie

Serves: 4-8. Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 2 cups nuts (I used almonds, most recipes call for macadamia)
  • 1.5 cups coconut flakes
  • enough molasses to make it all stick together. I think I used about 1/2 cup

Filling:

  • 5 avocados
  • 2 cups key lime juice
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar (I used brown, but agave or maple syrup would work better)
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil (if using brown sugar, up the amount of coconut oil)

Recipe:

  1. Put all the crust ingredients into a food processor and blend. I put in the coconut and almonds first, and then added molasses until it became the consistency that I wanted- just sticky enough to hold together. Form the crust into the pan.
  2. Okay, this is why my version wasn’t truly raw. I decided I wanted to toast the crust to make it a little crunchy and bring out the molasses taste. I put it in the oven on 45o for about 15 minutes.
  3. Pit and peel avocadoes. Put in food processor (yes, there is a little mid cooking dish washing that needs to happen here) and combine with lime juice, sugar, and oil.
  4. Put filling into pie. Refrigerate. If you don’t toast the crust, the pie is ready in about 20 minutes. If you do toast the crust, you may want to leave it in the fridge longer. Ice box pie is the best when, yes you guessed it, ice cold.

Tips and Warnings:

    • If you are thinking about squeezing the lime juice directly from the limes and you don’t have an easy means of doing that (ie: juicer) DON”T DO IT. It will take forever and your hands will hurt. Buying fresh lime juice is the easiest way.
    • The more coconut oil you use, the firmer the pie.

023

Gathering my ingredients

024025

Blending the crust together.

027028

Left is before toasting. Right is after toasting.

029031

blending the filling

032033

Et voila! It is beautiful no?

So, take home story: All pie is amazing and this one is no exception. The best part is probably how easy it is to make (aside from having to wash the food processor a couple times). I encourage you to poke around the internet and make your favorite version of the key lime (avocado) pie.

Smile Bucky

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

