Skip to content

The Best $10 I’ve Ever Been Conned Out Of

February 26, 2013

I’ve never been a big beauty routine person. I’ve really done things like, put on makeup, do my eyebrows, and fix my hair (I certainly don’t want to use the word brush and mislead anyone) because you are supposed to do those things, and quite honestly, not doing them can often be scary. Over the years, I have picked it up a notch. My husband even commented the other day about how I do more to my hair now than I ever have (which means I blow dry it so I don’t die of hypothermia when I go outside. He’s so sweet). The only thing I really do religiously is put on moisturizer and eye cream (which started when I had a mental breakdown about getting old at the age of 19…sad right?). Needless to say, I strive to look nice (afterall, I realize people have to actually LOOK at me) but I’ve never really killed myself.

A few months ago I was getting a mani/pedi, which is something I don’t think I’ve ever done. At least, not at the same time. While I was enjoying the deep tissue massage chair and the warm water on my feet the woman doing my nails kept asking about my eyebrows. “Who do your eyebrows?”. Uh-huh. I know they’re not great, but this can’t be good. I told her that I did. She frowned a little and replied, “I do them real nice for you”. I said no. She moved on to my fingernails. “You sure? We do them very nice for you?”. Okay, at this point I’m wondering how bad they actually look and what it would hurt to have this woman attack them. “Ok, fine” I consented, “just do whatever you want…but I mean, like, make them look good”. Let’s not give too much free reign to strangers after all. She seemed a little too excited for the $10 add on to her mani/pedi sale (which made me think even more…are they REALLY that bad?) and started going to town with the wax. When she was finished she joyfully announced so and thrust a mirror in front of my face. I know this sounds stupid,  but what a difference! They looked great. Why hadn’t I done this when I was like, 15, not 25?

Later that night I mentioned to my friends that I had a mani/pedi/eyebrow session when they asked what I had been up to all day. When I said the eyebrow part they smiled and were like, “Yeah, they’re always asking me that when I go there”. It wasn’t until then that I really felt like I had been conned, er excuse me, upsold –as they say in the retail industry. Thinking back over all the items I’d been upsold over the years (which I must say is very few- I’m pretty resistant) I definitely ranked this eyebrow experience at among the very top. Sometimes it’s nice just to let go and have someone else make a decision for you. Just make sure that it’s a minor decision!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2013 10:29 am

    Every time I walk into a nail salon for a pedicure, they always ask me if I want an eyebrow waxing too. I usually try to get one every few months and just maintain it with plucking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

