Skip to content

Why Yes, My Fascinator Does Match My Topiary…Kind Of

March 27, 2013

I made it through half the day before deciding that I needed a little human interaction and a good cup of coffee. Luckily, I have a good friend just moments down the street from me that responded to my ‘we need to hang out…coffee??’ with ‘I’ll put a pot on and we can watch a movie!’ Uh, yes. I can’t think of any better way to spend the day when it’s as depressing as Satan’s foyer outside. Right before going over, I remembered that I was supposed to be making an Easter fascinator for Sunday. Life fact #48: You’re never too old for new Easter clothes…and that includes a hat. So I packed up all my crafting supplies and headed out.

I ended up modeling my hat off a black fascinator that I already own that kind of looks like this:

Since it’s Easter (one of the only days of the year- besides Derby time- that you can get away with wearing a huge hat) I decided to amp it up a little. And this is what it came to:

013

I actually wanted yellow for the veil, but since we leave miles (like 50) away from the nearest craft store, this is what I had to work with.

021022023024

Do you like the 90’s style hairclip? I thought it would work much better that just the comb. Besides, I already have like 5 on hand (who from the 90’s doesn’t? duh)

And because I know you really want to see this piece of work on:

016017018019

It actually turned out much better than I thought. Obvs I won’t be wearing it with a bright orange cashmere sweater (I’m thinking more like a fun sundress– ignoring the fact it snowed today). I’ll be sure to take pictures at the Easter party and post.

And…because it’s not a party unless you have matching topiaries for your hat….Enter this bad boy:

007010011009012

Okay, it doesn’t exactly match the hat…but that’s good, because that would be really weird and I would be concerned about me if I were you. I intended (and will) make two of these, but I severely underestimated the amount of flowers needed to complete the ball: hence 1 topiary. In the last picture you can see the original sadness of the topiary that is yet to become a beautiful ball of floral glory. That will be tomorrow’s project. As they are too tall (I think) for centerpieces for our Easter party I’m thinking about putting them on the mimosa bar and maybe making a cute little sign for them to hold up (Possibly saying: Let’s Get Drunk). Okay, maybe not. But you’ll have to wait until next Monday when I recover from the party to blog to see how it turns out. Smile

Cheers! Bucky

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2013 2:50 am

    Love love love the fascinator!!!! I sometimes will wear a hat or flower in my hair, and get SO many strange looks, it’s just not done much out in California. Or the US really.

    Love it. It’s perfectly perfect!

    ❤ Jules

    • March 28, 2013 9:58 am

      Haha. Thank you for the love! I’m from the South where hats (especially Easter ones) are much more acceptable. The last time I wore my black fascinator outside of the South, someone asked me if I was British Royalty. I was like…”uh, no…I bought this downtown…you know ANYONE can buy and wear these right?” Hilarious.

  2. March 29, 2013 7:49 am

    🙂 It looks amazing. i really like the way you matched the 2 up, great work. You will look beautiful. x

Leave a Reply

