Skip to content

The Liebster Award

April 22, 2013

liebster-award

If you’ve never heard of the Liebster award here is a quick rundown: it is a blogger to blogger award designed to highlight new up and coming bloggers.

Here are the rules:

1) 11 Facts about yourself

2) Answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you

3) Nominate 11 other Liebster worthy blogs and give them 11 questions.

Brandee from the blog Sprinkles and Dirty Dishes gave me the Liebster award. On her blog, she celebrates the joys (and at times- comical tragedies) of children and being a working mother. Her positive vibe is uplifting and you should check out her blog- especially if you are a young mother yourself!

11 Facts about Bucky:

  1. When I was 13, I was convinced I was going to marry Savage Garden’s Darren Hayes. (spoiler alert: it didn’t happen)
  2. I actually like Taylor Swift’s new song: 22.
  3. I used to wear rainbow toe socks and sandals to middle school.
  4. I couldn’t tell a nickel and a quarter apart until I was like, 10.
  5. My parents wondered if I wasn’t autistic or had a learning disability or just mentally not all there (see #4).
  6. I graduated college with a 3.65 (take that #5!)
  7. I just wrote the editor of Southern Living yesterday thanking him for being awesome.
  8. My nails grow so fast that I need to cut them every week to keep from  being talons.
  9. My cat’s name is Jacques Yves Cousteau Friedman. He loves the water.
  10. My last (and only other) cat’s name was Sir George Reginald Buchanan.
  11. I never went to the same school  more than 2 years consecutively in my life.

 

11 Questions from Brandee over at Sprinkles and Dirty Dishes:

  1. What lead you to the decision to start your blog? My mind literally works on overdrive all the time (unless it’s cold out). I wanted a creative lifestyle blog to be a fun companion to my more serious clothing line activities.
  2. If you were an animal what would you be, and why? (No really, this is a great question…I myself am a Panda) Some type of water bird. How peaceful would it be to just float in the middle of a lake on a hot summer day? (until you get eaten of course)
  3. What do you want to learn from your children and vice-versa? I don’t have a child, I have a cat, which in a way IS my child. From my cat-child I am hoping to learn how to relax more and perfect the art of sporadic napping. One thing I wished my cat-child would learn from me is how to wash the dishes (we’re working on it).
  4. What do you want to have accomplished/done by your next birthday? Omg, my next birthday is in approximately 3 weeks. So, I guess my three week goal would be to foster my blood orange tree Ferdinand back to life. The winter in New York has really taken a toll on Ferdie.
  5. What is your favorite book from childhood? This is so hard. I loved stories aboutfairies and I remember reading Afternoon of the Elves many times. I also read every Bobbsey Twin book I could get my hands on.
  6. What is your favorite book from your adult life? I love epic novels (seeing as I was reading the Hobbit in 5th grade, that’s not a huge surprise). The Count of Monte Cristo and East of Eden are two of my favorites. I also just finished Anna Karenina, which was superb.
  7. What is the best date you have ever been on? Probably when celebrating my one year anniversary with my then boyfriend, now husband. We went to San Francisco and the whole trip was one epic date. We did everything from five star vegan restaurants to dancing onstage at the Langhorne Slim and Avett Brothers concert.
  8. What do you do to make time for yourself? At least every other day I disappear and take an hour long bath. If I need to escape the house, I take a long jog.
  9. What is your favorite board game? I’ve been on a real chutes and ladders kick lately. I know it’s for 2 yr olds, but whenever my husband and I play we break out the wine and things get pretty competitive.
  10. Name your top way you deal with stress in your life that may be helpful to others. Take a breath, step back, clear your mind, refocus on your end goal, and then reprioritize. Stress is simply caused by trying to place too many things at the same priority level.
  11. Name the first word that pops into your head. Beans

Extra Credit Question: If you were going to have a themed party could be anything you like at all, what would the theme be? I would love to have an Alice and Wonderland themed garden party. Everyone would be required to come in full dress and (in my mind at least) it would basically look like a spread from Vogue.

 

Okay, this is the point where I nominate 11 other people and then ask them questions. The only problem is, I don’t want to nominate just anybody…so I may need a moment to think. Watch out for a subsequent post about the awesome blogs you need to check out (ie: my nominees). If you think your blog is Liebster worthy (let’s be real, would you be writing if you didn’t?) leave me a comment and let me know!

Happy Monday!

signature

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

