Skip to content

Spring Bees

April 26, 2013

Sometimes I have the urge to play with fabrics. I know what you’re thinking…”You’re a fashion designer- isn’t playing with fabrics your job?” Well, yes. But sometimes it’s nice to just create knowing that you only have one yard of some really cool fabric and you don’t have to worry about marketing it or making it buyer friendly (does this make my hips look fat?). The spring bee tunic is just that. The material is a really stiff, kind of see through upholstery fabric that caught my eye (ie: no one would ever buy or wear it ever). With stiff fabric you just can’t help but play with fun shapes. Quite unlike everything else I make, this is not cleaning friendly, it doesn’t iron, and I’d have to burn it to figure out what the material actually is (my guess is in the plastic category). I haven’t ever worn it outside the house,  but it sure does take fun pictures, which maybe puts it a little more in the art sector than the functional clothing sector. But isn’t that the fun of fashion after all?

Enjoy some more dress up!

122

I’m so ready for summer! I want yellow tunics, skinny pants, and sandals!! Also- you can tell this is sort of see through because you can see just how high my pants are.

123

Tunic and pants [my own design], Platforms [Target]

124

The back is the best part. This fabric just asked to be folded like origami. I thought it ended up looking like bee wings.

124

 

127

I call these my mom Jeggings. I’m not a mom, but I call them that because they are high waisted and literally come up to my belly button. (see pic 1)  LOVE.

131

After a long and really terrible winter, there is nothing better than standing 6 feet tall in the sunshine.

128

Hi-lo happiness. It’s like a mullet, no? Business in the front and a party in the back.

I hope the nice weather is starting to spread around to everyone! Enjoy it! More fun spring/summer outfits to come.

xoxo,

signature

PS. Don’t forget to enter to win a Trina Tank top!! Click here to see the post and enter!: https://buckytheblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/buchanan-trina-tank-giveaway/

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2013 10:50 am

    The back of your tunic reminds me of the Jap Kimono. Cute 😉

  2. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 9, 2013 10:52 pm

    Omygoodness, that top is super flattering, I really like it!

Leave a Reply

