Skip to content

Strawberry and Chocolate Granola

May 2, 2013

I’m one of those people that read EVERY single nutrition label on every product before I buy it. Most the time I end up not buying it after reading the label. Yeah, I’m that picky. I kind of like my body and I would like to be nice to it (READ: no weird shit in my food). I really love granola, but I never really buy it because a) it is expensive and b) my husband eats it like lucky charms…so a $5 box is gone in like, two days. In the past I’ve made my own granola, but it was expensive due to the way I was making it (have you ever bought 3 lbs of almonds before? cha-ching!) and I’m lazy. After some experimenting with cheaper ingredients (rolled oats), I found a recipe that works quiet nicely AND for a good price. Okay, here’s the fun part: (unless you are an avid rule follower. In that case, you should stop reading) y0u can basically add anything you want to the base part of the granola!! I used strawberry, chocolate, and shaved coconut, but you can add in your favorite dried fruits, etc.

You can make this granola two ways:

1) Dehydrating method: this is the way I’ve explained below. You simply add all the ingredients and throw them in a dehydrator until they are all dried.

2) Quick oven method: this is basically when you toast the granola and nuts in the over for 10 minutes (350 usually) and then take it out and add in all your already dried additions. This is the 15 minute method. I have never tried it, but there are quite a few internet recipes on this.

Strawberry and Chocolate Granola

Time: depending on cooking methods- 15 minutes to 8 hours…I know, see above. Serves: 8 servings

Ingredients:

(base)

  • 3 cups rolled oats (your plain ol’ old fashioned oats from the store)
  • 1 Granny Smith apple (keep with the firm varieties) (if you’re using the quick method- leave this out of your base)
  • 1.5 cups chopped almonds
  • 1.5 cups Agave (or you could use pure maple syrup)
  • any other nuts you want

(add-ons)

  • 7 chopped strawberries
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 dried coconut
  • 1 tb cinnamon
  • anything else you want!!

001

Pretty much everything you’ll need besides the cinnamon. As long as you have the stuff on the right, you can create endless combinations.

002003

Left: just oats, Right: apples

004005

Left: chopped almonds (you can also use pecans, sunflower seeds, soy nuts…other nuts or seeds..), Right: strawberries

006007

Now for the good stuff

Left: coconut, Right: chocolate chips

008009

Left: add cinnamon and stir up. Right: add agave and stir.

010011

Spread out evenly on a baking sheet. I dehydrated mine for about 10 hours (ie: overnight)

014015

The deliciousness is ready. I’m storing it in basic sandwich containers in my refrigerator. Putting it somewhere cool, dark, and dry will make it last longer!

016

Of course I have to test it out. Unlike cereal, you don’t have to eat a ton of granola to fill up. I feel very hippie crunchy granola (literally) with this picture.

017

The big moment….OMG- so good.

020

Oh you know…just enjoying some granola with the sunrise. Or like, 3 hours after sunrise.

If you don’t have a dehydrator, fear not!! You can always throw assorted chopped nuts and granola in the oven to toast and then add in whatever you want afterwards! I happen to love dried strawberries, but you can easily make a more grain and nut oriented granola and add fresh fruit daily.

Also- I eat mine as cereal…but it’s a great addition to yogurt (how my husband eats it), ice cream, salads, lunch sides, or even as nibbling food on its own.

Hope you enjoy!

signature

One Comment leave one →
  1. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 9, 2013 10:47 pm

    pinning! I love granola and this is fun new way to try making it, thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

