Skip to content

Best Dressed at the Met

May 9, 2013

In case you live in a closet, the Met Gala happened like, 2 nights ago. Although I’m painfully late, it would be a blogging tragedy not to cover this event. The dress code is ‘whatever you want’ and the theme this year was punk (which is basically like saying ‘whatever you want’). Sure, the punk movement started in Britain as a rage against the machine government (sorry, I couldn’t help that one) but is now loosely defined as being whoever you want to be…letting your inner spirit out…kind of like an angry hippie. This personal view of ‘punk’ led me to pick the best dressed at the Met Gala this year. How did I come up with these photos? Well quite honestly, they are the pictures of what E Online choose as the worst dressed Met Gala attenders. These contenders have obvi made some people upset with their outfit choices, which in my book, would place them as best dressed at a punk event. Decide for yourself:

(all photos are from EOnline and all comments are from yours truly)

<p>The risk-taking teen's psychedelic tie-die swirl print Rodarte dress had our heads spinning, as did her technicolor eye makeup.&nbsp;</p>

This isn’t punk? I totally think it screams ‘I do want I want…and I tie dye shit’

 

<p>Looks like the Material Girl forgot a whole lot of material with this <a href="http://www.eonline.com/news/415524/madonna-rocks-black-wig-skips-pants-at-2013-met-gala" target="_blank"><strong>bum-baring</strong></a> Riccardo Tisci ensemble that showed off her, ahem, assets.&nbsp;</p>

Are you seriously making fun of Madonna? Yeah, I mean her ass was all out in the open apparently, but if it’s good enough to be seen at 60 (or however old she is) I say do your thang girl. Now that’s rebellion at its finest.

 

<p>We weren't hailing the queen of over-the-top outfits in her Dolce and Gabbana crown and embellished dress.&nbsp;</p>

I’m pretty sure a true punk would have no problem defacing (or is glorifying?) religious pictures and symbols.

 

<p>Sure, the petite designer is known for her boho cool look, but her robe-like coat and deadlock-inspired hair took her signature style a little too far.&nbsp;</p>

Nothing quite says “I don’t give a damn like looking as if you just woke up from the most amazing nap ever in Versailles”

 

<p>The Brit fashion designer's get-up was more chaotic than couture-like with its out-there combination of tattered fabric, ribbon and chains.&nbsp;</p>

My favorite part about this outfit is how every picture I’ve seen fails to give credit to her designer. They have no idea who made her outfit…which…seems pretty punk to me.

 

<p>With her trademark edgy look, we thought the <em>Twilight</em> star would have one of the best looks at the punk-themed evening, but her Stella McCartney jumpsuit with its unflattering silhouetted failed to impress.&nbsp;</p>

First of all, KStew here is wearing Stella McCartney (my fav designer) so back off E Online. Second of all, look at all the anger in that face. That’s the face of fury my friends…fury –> punk –>  dark side.

 

<p>The gorgeous model's Louis Vuitton gown felt like it belonged in a period drama thanks to baroque-like detailing.&nbsp;</p>

This was a ‘bad’ outfit because it didn’t look punk enough. So good job, whoever you are, a true punk would probably not show up according to dress code…or most likely- they would never show up at all.

 

<p>The socialite's punky look made us want to riot with its shocking pink shade and one too many spikes.&nbsp;</p>

Apparently this is a socialite. I must commend her for wearing black lipstick. I would have totally showed up in black lipstick.

 

<p>Sure, the supermodel has a fab figure, but this skimpy dress looked like one wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen.&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://www.eonline.com/photos/8772/best-dressed-at-the-2013-met-gala/282288" target="_blank"><strong>NEXT GALLERY: Best Dressed at the 2013 Met Gala</strong></a></p>

This was a ‘wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen’ according to E. But come on,  let’s be serious…Madonna is already walking around half naked…so what if you see a little bit of model vag? You’ll probably see her with less clothes on in the next newest designer fragrance in Vogue anyways.

So there you have it: the best dressed at the punk Met Gala. I kind of feel like whoever decided on the theme (yes, I realize it’s for the new punk to couture exhibit but still) announced it and then just sat back and drank a glass (or bottle) of wine and watched all this happen. Good job to that person. It must have been super hilarious and entertaining to you.

I’d like to say a special thank you to E Online for letting me use their pictures (and totally refute their entire article). It’s been a blast ya’ll.

xoxo,

signature

6 Comments leave one →
  1. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 9, 2013 10:42 pm

    I just found your blog and your comments about the images you chose for this post were right on! I tend to gravitate to the worst dressed list because if nothing else it’s entertaining…sometimes I prefer the looks. I liked Kim Kardashian’s dress and how she is still rocking that huge pregnancy bump….and I agree that that socialite really took the theme seriously which was cute in a comformist sort of way.
    Great post!

    • May 10, 2013 9:52 am

      Thank you so much for your sweet comments! After checking out your blog, I feel guilty about all the home blog posts I’ve been putting on the back burner! haha. Thanks for the motivation. More home posts will be coming 🙂

  2. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 10, 2013 9:23 pm

    Oh, that’s funny, I wonder if I.D. is still linked to my old blog? It sounds like it, I deleted all the posts on that blog and put up images of my house when I was trying to sell it, that’s funny. My new blog is brand new and is here:
    http://raindropsandrotini.wordpress.com/
    If you wouldn’t mind could you tell me if this is the blog checked out? I am wondering why it would direct you to my old blog….
    Anyway!
    I would still love to your place, lol!

  3. raindrops & rotini permalink
    May 10, 2013 9:54 pm

    Nevermind, I checked and it directed me to my new blog, so all good!

    • May 12, 2013 8:20 pm

      Yes! That is the same one I saw. It’s a great site and I loved the mother’s day banner!

      • raindrops & rotini permalink
        May 13, 2013 10:06 pm

        Thanks so much, I have really been enjoying looking through your blog. I check out so many, but it’s nice when you find one that just feels home-y 🙂

Leave a Reply

