Skip to content

Bed Envy

May 17, 2013

Almost every room of our house is (somewhat) decorated. That is, except for our bedroom. Well, I guess that room is technically decorated, just very poorly. You see, I have this horrible thing that I’ve trained myself to do, which is never buy something unless you absolutely love it. And that explains why, after two years of marriage, our bed is still two mattresses on an iron frame. I haven’t found that perfect bed. Ironically, the nightstands, lamps, dressers, bed linens are all perfectly in place. The only thing they are missing is an actual bed to be friends with.

For the longest time, I didn’t know what kind of bed I actually wanted. Four poster, upholstered, leather, wooden? There are so many choices, and I didn’t like any of them. I finally whittled it down to sleigh, four poster, and French wing beds. I have pretty much accepted the fact that I will be bed less for the next 20 years until I find the perfect bed.

And then it happened. Just this morning. I was laying in bed (you know, on my mattresses) looking up painted furniture (my next project) when I ran across a bed. It was the perfect bed. I was in love immediately despite the fact that the magazine picture said it was 2,500 something pounds (problem 1: expensive, problem 2: located in UK). Maybe it would  still be 20 years to get the bed of my dreams. I traced the picture back to the website where I was greeted with a friendly, “Hey, we noticed you’re American” pop-up inviting me to their American site (hurdle #2 conquered!) Unfortunately, you can’t buy directly off the website, but believe you me, I’m going to find a way to get one of these beds. Check out my favorites below:

And So To Bed

 

Classic sleigh bed with ornate details

 

Floral caned and hand painted luxury wooden bed

I’m not usually a French antique person, but this is just lovely.

Manoir Painted luxury sleigh bed

In case my future house one day is not big enough to hold the first sleigh bed.

 

Churchill luxury leather bed

A leather wing bed? Gah, love it.

 

Versailles hand carved luxury wooden bed in silver leaf

How regal is this gold leaf French bed?

French style Versailles upholstered silver leaf bed

It comes upholstered too!

Check out these beds and more from the www.andsotobed.com website. One of the most awesome things, is that every bed comes in a variety of wood choices, paint colors, and even gold and silver leaf. I’m getting excited just thinking about it again.

We spend a third of our life sleeping, so why not do it somewhere elegant? What are your thoughts about the beds? Do you have one that you just love?

I hope your Friday is as exciting as finding the perfect bed. Smile

xoxo,

signature

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2013 9:45 am

    The French Antique bed is gorgeous!! What a romantic addition to any bedroom… except I dont think mine is big enough…lol… good luck choosing your new bed!!

  2. May 17, 2013 10:32 am

    Last one seems the best, classy and inviting. 🙂

  3. Rachel permalink
    May 22, 2013 7:38 pm

    I love the green French-y one the most, but the first one is pretty great, too 🙂 I hope you get one, I will live vicariously through you 🙂
    RW

Leave a Reply

