Skip to content

DIY Weekend = Chair Redo

May 20, 2013

I’m not the kind of person that picks up discarded furniture off the street. Even in my college years, I never adopted any second hand merchandise from the curb. But that all stopped this past weekend.

It really started on my run Thursday. I was going through a nearby neighborhood and spotted a chair. The chair had a block of wood on it that said ‘all free’. I’m assuming that there was more stuff by the curb at one point, but all that was left was this chair. And, despite the fact that it wasn’t really my taste color wise and had a broken leg, I felt a sudden urge to bring it home with me.

Ok, obviously I didn’t pick it up and continue my jog…but I did stop by an hour later on my way to the grocery store (yes..in my car). Well, actually it was my husband’s car. Which of course led to the weird conversation a day later of, “oh by the way, there’s a chair in the back of your car. I saved it from a life of street corners and destitution”.

Luckily my husband is used to my weirdness. He didn’t even blink twice when I announced I was going to refurbish it.

This is what it looked like before I lathered a layer of paprika/cinnamon spice paint on it:

027025

A little wood glue and that back leg was as good as new…kind of. Okay, maybe it should have a 150 lb weight limit.

026028

I kind of got excited and started painting the top before I took the before pictures. oops.

029

The wonderful man at the Home Deps mixed me up a little sample size and I still have a third left!

034

After details. I really debated between going high gloss or going rustic (think sanded away edges). Obviously I ended up somewhere in the middle. I’m still considered adding a gloss or sanding…who knows?

035

The seat of the chair. I think it was some sort of leather or fake leather (uh gross).

036

I got the cinnamon spice/rust color from this amazing Pottery Barn channels William Morris (yes, the irony is good) rug in my living room.

044

Nothing like spicing up an old piece (I’m sorry, I couldn’t help that)

047048

This was seriously one of the easiest things ever. It was also incredibly cheap: I spent a total of maybe $10 (including wood glue, paint brush, paint, sandpaper) and about 2 hours. This may turn into a really bad addiction.

Do you like it? Would you put a high gloss shine on it, sand it down, or leave it as is?? I would love to hear. Smile

Happy Monday,

signature

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2013 8:14 pm

    I’m a HUGE fan of chair refashions, and I love what you’ve done with this one! The color you picked gave it a bit of a retro feel without making it look old or cheap. cute!

  2. May 20, 2013 10:04 pm

    I love it as is. What a great find and I’m guessing you are a convert now right?

  3. Rachel permalink
    May 22, 2013 7:35 pm

    This turned out great, low commitment, low effort great return 🙂
    I think I like the idea of sanding it out a little bit, esp. after seeing your inspiration rug. Making it look a little worn and loved, that’s my vote ❤
    RW

    • May 23, 2013 9:47 am

      Thanks! I think I may sand it at bit. I still have a 1/3 a container of paint left if it looks terrible!

  4. Joanne S permalink
    June 10, 2013 3:42 pm

    Lovely color for your vintage chair. You’ve done quite a nice job! ~Joanne

Leave a Reply

