Skip to content

Resort 2014 (so far): Attack of the 90’s

June 7, 2013

I must admit, I haven’t been through all the Resort 2014 shows so far. But I have seen all the most recent ones and I feel like I’ve been hit over the head with the 90’s. But in a good way. Having grown up in the 90’s, I actually have quite an affinity to things like Third Eye Blind, crop tops (although I was never allowed to wear them), suede, and TLC. I also admit that when I start singing along to Icona Pop’s ‘I Love It’ I get a little unreasonably loud at the bridge: “you’re from the 70’s but I’m a 90’s bitch”. All those 1999 and 2000-ers just stare at me like, “keep it down old lady”. Whatever. Take it or leave it the 90’s  happened and it looks like they are happening again in fashion. See the following supporting points:

Point 1: Crop Tops

I have yet to see more than two runway shows that don’t feature these stomach baring blouses.

Left to right, top to bottom: Cushnie et Ochs, Jen Kao, 3.1 Phillip Lim, Balenciaga

 

Point 2: (variations of) That moss green color

In case you don’t quite remember what I’m talking about see above picture. The same green can be found in oversized plaid shirts circa 1993.

Calvin Klein Collection, Band of Outsiders, Organic by John Patrick, Ports 1961

 

Point 3: Peasant Tops

These puppies jump in and out of popularity every 20 years it seems.

Left to right, top to bottom: Altuzarra, BCBG Max Azria, Anna Sui, Catherine Malandrino

 

Point 3: Suede

I’m pretty sure I had suede something (or was it everything?) from Limited Too at one point. This is another one that more or less follows a 20 year cycle. (Bonus points for Calvin Klein’s moss green suede dress pictured above)

Left to right, top to bottom: Calvin Klein Collection, Alturazza, Ports 1961. I can’t for sure say that all these pictures are suede exactly, but they sure look like it.

And thus, with these four (although I’m sure I can find more if I dig around enough) points I can only conclude that the 90’s are upon us once more. Except this time, as The Man Repeller most accurately points out, I am free to indulge in the trends- specifically the crop tops- without parental supervision (mom quote from childhood: “you can’t wear that! It shows your stomach!”) Now I need to scrounge the internet for a crop top worthy workout. Stay posted.

Cheers,

signature

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

