Skip to content

More Than Just Where You Sleep

July 12, 2013

It’s a bedroom and, no, it isn’t always used exclusively for sleeping. I’ve had bedrooms on the mind lately as I create a guest bedroom (hence the refurbing of a futon) and consider revamping/finishing my own bedroom. I’ve also talked (ok, dreamed) about the perfect bed (See: bed envy), but now I’m looking at the whole image. Here are a few favorite images from my interest board: Home Sweet Home (creative title, right?). I personally love the ones with spots to sit and read or just lounge around. Why should one room only be used for one specific purpose anyways?

Meg Lonergan of LeSueur Interiors. Love the his and her monogram

This is so preppy without being overt to me. I love the oversized bird pictures and the stools at the end of the bed.

Chevron

This is one of my favorite color combinations…along with a salmon color in the same tone.

Hideaway bed. Yes, gimme. *grabby hands*

Maybe it’s my primal instincts, but there is something so comforting and cozy about sleeping in a confined space…every fox needs its hole, right? Plus- this room could be anything and no one would ever know there was a bed there!

♂ Trendy masculine Industrial looking bedroom designs from http://bobvila.tid.al/post/21-industrial-bedroom-designs

Maybe it’s because I’m not a super girly girl, but I love the look of a strong masculine navy blue. Black is too dark and depressing for a bed room and all white is too sterile- navy and grey is a great compromise.

Wow, I love this room. This would be so magical fun for a guest room at a Beach house right on the ocean!

How fun would this be for a lake house? I would love to do a cabin with a smaller version of this and have the sleeping loft(s) on one side, a living room with fireplace in the middle, and a kitchen on the other side. Then you could fall asleep watching the fire die out. For some reason, smaller intimate multipurpose spaces are more appealing to me than 4,000 square feet of staged perfection.

I already have a couple of ideas churning for my bedroom (including a large custom made canvas). I also ordered some fabric for my futon…so more on that when it comes in! Stay tuned for pictures as I work through it all!

Ciao,

image

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2013 10:46 pm

    Oh my gosh how fun is the multiple bunk bed extravaganza!! I feel like they need a sign hanging saying ‘all aboard!’

    • July 17, 2013 8:01 pm

      Ooh I love the idea of a sign like that? Maybe painted on driftwood or written on flags hanging like a banner.

Leave a Reply

