Skip to content

Summer Kale Salad and Homemade Peach Ice Cream

July 20, 2013

Just like I crave chilis and hearty soups in the winter, I can’t resist salads and ice creams in the summer. I’ve eaten a few different kale salads recently and decided to make my own. The key is to massage the kale with oils to soften it up a little bit. The beauty of this salad is that you can add whatever you want. I chose some fresh veggies and fruits I had on hand like corn, green beans, tomatoes, cucumbers, and strawberries.

IMG_0151

I started with two avocadoes and about a fourth of a cup of both olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette. 

IMG_0153

Mash all that goodness together

IMG_0157

Take a handful of kale at a time and massage it in the mixture. You’re basically going to act like you are kneading bread.

IMG_0155

From top left clockwise: massaged kale, prechopped kale, softening mixture.

IMG_0159

After I rubbed all the kale with all the avocado mixture, I threw in some fresh veggies. 

IMG_0158

I knew I wasn’t going to be eating this for at least 3o minutes to an hour later, so I literally threw on frozen corn. Even though the salad was in the fridge for that whole time, it still thawed out perfectly.

   IMG_0161

Adding strawberries was the final touch. I also thought about adding fresh peaches…but I ended up saving all those for this….

 

Peach Ice Cream

IMG_0165

You are literally looking at all the ingredients: fresh peaches (6), sugar (3/4 cup), coconut milk (1can), and vanilla extract (1tsp). Blend in food processor.

IMG_0166

If it’s a little watery from the fruit after blending, put on the stove over medium heat until it thickens up a little. For best results, let cool before you put in the ice cream maker.

IMG_0168 

We’ve discovered that the key to amazingly fluffy ice cream is to churn it for a long time. Our ice cream maker (above) came with two frozen buckets for churning. We use one for thirty minutes or until it starts to warm up a bit (depends on how hot it is out) and then we transfer the ice cream to the other bowl directly out of the freezer. We continue to churn it in that bowl until it becomes really fluffy. 

 

IMG_0172

This ice cream is so simple and it is to die for. Even my non-vegan husband thinks it’s incredible.

Aside from the large amount of sugar in the ice cream (which, for the record, I am experimenting in decreasing) this is really not that bad for you. I usually try to make it with more fruit than anything else. The coconut milk is what really takes it from being a sorbet to being an ice cream.

I can’t wait to experiment with more ice cream flavors!! (strawberry rhubarb is next on my hit list- complete with fresh rhubarb from my friend’s garden!)

Happy eating,

image

ps. I got my fabric in for my futon and, I’m not going to lie, it’s a little bit more bold than I expected, but I think it’s going to look awesome. I’ll try to write a post Monday when I get a chance to work on it some more! Stay tuned. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

