Skip to content

Let’s Talk (Thanksgiving) Food

November 5, 2013

In case you haven’t noticed…it’s November. The start of November signifies a couple of things, including but not limited to: Christmas music on the radio (not going to lie, I love this), really short days that feel like they are 5 hours long, and food….glorious, glorious amounts of food (you are, after all trying to put on some fat to make it through the winter, right?)

I started salivating around October 21st when the first November magazine hit my doorstep. The cover issue of Southern Living alone made we want to abandon all work out plans and eat my heart out (oh wait, that happened in October with all the Halloween candy). So this is the point in my year that I start making furious lists about food. What new things do I want to try? What classics must I have? And of course, the biggest question of all: What types of pies do I make?

It’s pretty much impossible to just have one

The particularly difficult thing is that this year, it will just be my husband and I.  Which of course leads to the question…Can I rationalize making four pies for two people? The first obvious fix to this would be to invite people over (which we plan on doing). The second fix would be to make  mini pies or tarts…we can’t compromise variety after all. And the last fix (although, I’m sure there are more) would be to make a different pie every week until Thanksgiving.

That last ‘fix’ is actually something I do with all the Thanksgiving food, because my list of items to make often supersedes my time and stomach restraints. This weekend I may make a cranberry apple salad. Next week it may be a new type of cornbread. And..there might possibly be a new stuffing every week because I simply can’t choose just one (it’s stuffing!!)

I’ll be sure to post recipes (all vegan, bien sur) and pictures as I cook my way up to Thanksgiving!

If you’d like to see me veganize a favorite dish of yours, just let me know in the comments and I will see what I can do! (ex: How would you make green bean casserole vegan?)

xoxo,

signature

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2013 5:46 pm

    Uh, does this mean green bean casserole isn’t vegan? (It ain’t easy being old.)

    • November 5, 2013 8:01 pm

      Haha. Usually it has dairy (and bacon if you’re making it southern style) in it!

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving, Stuffing, and Ice Cream, Oh My! | Bucky [the blog]

Leave a Reply

