Skip to content

I Caved And Made A: DIY Sharpie Mug

November 12, 2013

Yes friends, Pinterest got the best of me on this one. I simply couldn’t resist. It looked so easy. If you don’t know what I’m talking about search Pinterest (or just le internet) for ‘sharpie mug’. You will see lots of fabulous ideas. I decided to keep mine pretty simple. Here’s how I did it:

DIY Sharpie Mug:

You will need:

  • A sharpie
  • A mug (I bought mine for a dollar at dollar tree)
  • An oven

Step 1:

Clean and dry your mug off (who knows what it’s touched in its China to randomville USA dollar tree lifetime).

sharpiemug 003

Step 2:

Find a sharpie and write on your mug. It’s not very unique, but I think this it is hilarious.

sharpiemug 007

The best tip ever for perfectionists: If you mess up…guess what? It washes right off! Just use soap and a sponge and redo it until it’s perfect. This is my third or fourth try.

WARNING:

Writing on your mug may become addicting and cause you to throw simple to the wind and write an entire novel (or the lyrics to an awesome song). See: opposite side of my mug

sharpiemug 008

Step 3:

Put the mug in the oven on 350° for 30 minutes (this will set the design)…and…that’s it! You’re done and as soon as the mug cools you can use it.

Here are some after pictures (I wanted to take after pictures, to show that the marker doesn’t really swell or shrink after baking.):

sharpiemug 010

You see that snow outside??? That’s why I need all the mugs I can get.

sharpiemug 013 

These lyrics from Angels and Airwaves help get me up and moving in the morning.

Voila! A Pinterest experiment gone well. Now if you excuse me, I have some tea drinking and stuffing making to do.

xoxo,

signature

Disclaimer: I’ve read across the internet that some people have had  better success than others with the sharpie not rubbing off. This may depend on the porcelain used. The good news, is that most people only have trouble when they put it in the dishwasher. So, if you’re making this as a gift, I recommend writing ‘hand wash only’ on the bottom.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 13, 2013 6:52 am

    Great idea love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

