Skip to content

Fill er up! (cupcakes, that is)

January 30, 2014

It was merely a month ago that a baking fanatic coworker of mine brought in some cupcakes she had made the night before. “You have to try them, they have a surprise,” she cooed. Usually, I like to avoid any sort of  ‘surprises’ in my food. I’m even not crazy about the baby in King Cake (and I have what would be classified as an unhealthy addiction to said cake). Nothing she had ever baked previously had turned out anything less than phenomenal, so I gave it a try ….and now I can’t think about cupcakes the same way.

The surprise was a very simple Oreo cookie placed at the bottom of the cupcake. This wasn’t a fancy ‘injecting truffles into the center’ sort of cupcake situation, but a very simple addition. I honestly didn’t think much about the cupcakes until a few weeks later, when I was at the store caving to a chocolate craving and buying cupcake supplies. All of a sudden my option wasn’t just chocolate or vanilla. It was more like chocolate or vanilla…AND what sort of delicious candy bar? I choose a Reese’s Cup to hide in the middle of the petite gateau, but some sort of Twix incorporation was a close runner up.

Maybe I’m just really behind the baking times, but this was a pretty fabulous (not to mention, delicious) revelation. In honor of filled (stuffed?) cupcakes, I’ve sifted through the web for some recipes to pass on to you. Enjoy!

OREO Cupcakes recipe

Oreo Cupcakes. This recipe actually recommends you serve them upside down. They also recommend cool-whip, which I would probably bypass.

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes from CrazyLittleProjects.com There's a Reese's INSIDE!!  #cupcakes #reeses

Reese’s Cupcakes. This blogger stuffed small Reese’s into the center of the cupcake. I have also found that a full size Reese’s actually fits perfectly right in the middle if you lay it horizontally.

Twix Cupcakes

Twix cupcakes. Twix happens to be my favorite, so these are definitely next on my list.

Mini candy bars and rolos are also a happy surprise. Recipe here.

York Peppermint Patty Cupcakes. I’m not the biggest fan of mint with my chocolate, but these sound so delicious.

Want more recipes? Pinterest is just teeming with them (surprise, surprise)…just search for ‘candy bar cupcakes’.

Happy Baking!

signature

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2014 7:33 pm

    This looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

