Skip to content

So I Pulled The Oil…

April 19, 2014

Or, I guess technically, the oil pulled me. If you haven’t heard about oil pulling yet then, congratulations! I’m happy that you’ve finally emerged from under your rock. You seem like a nice person and it’s good to have you walking around in public like the rest of us.

Here’s the readers digest version: Oil pulling is an age old practice of swishing some sort of cold pressed oil in your mouth with the hopes that it is drawing out toxins. If you want more info about the history of it and procedures, etc check out: The Skinny Confidential’s blog post on it or, if want the crunchy granola take on things, look at OilPulling.com.

After doing some thorough reading the other night, I brought my husband up to speed on this new trend. Convo went something like this:

Me: “So, there’s this new crazy thing called oil pulling”

Husband: “What is that?”

Me: “Blahblahblah”

Husband: “Uhh…so are you going to try it?”

Me: “Oh totally”

And I tried it. And it wasn’t as easy as it sounds. Yeah sure, it sounds easy…just put some cold pressed oil (most people use coconut oil) in your mouth for 15 minutes and there you go. And then there’s the gag reflex. How could we forget about that? Really, this would all be super easy without that little piece.

So, there are two rules to pulling oil: 1) Don’t spit out the oil in a drain and 2) Don’t swallow.

I heard that people will pull while they are in the shower and getting ready, so I thought I’d try it like that. I figured that if the whole pulling thing was super disgusting, at least I would distracted by the ritual of, I don’t know, shaving my legs. This idea was good in theory. I got in the shower and lasted about 3 minutes before my gag reflex freaked out and coconut oil went EVERYWHERE. Violation rule number 1. (side note: if this happens to you, please be very careful as the bathtub floor will be super slick <read: dangerous>) I had to get out immediately and brush my teeth. The oil texture was terrible.

Ok, so huge failure.

I don’t take defeat well, so after showering I was ready to try it again (maybe I’m just a glutton for punishment). I’m pretty convinced this is a whole mind over matter thing (which, apparently, my vanity wasn’t strong enough to conquer) so I decided to mentally get past the whole texture thing. I added the tiniest amount of mouthwash to the tiniest amount of coconut oil and then convinced myself that this was some sort of new mouthwash. And it worked for about 5 minutes before I succumbed to the gag. At this rate I’ll be able to swish for 15 minutes in like, oh, several months.

Why am I telling you this? Partly because I want you to feel normal if you are struggling with this newest holistic fad. Partly because I feel like it’s just a hilarious story. At any rate, hope you enjoyed. 🙂

xoxo,

signature 

Ps. I’m on cake two in three days, so stay tuned for pictures. :):):)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2014 9:34 pm

    I love your post. My boyfriend and I have discussed trying it out and I already know that I’ll be able to handle maybe 30 seconds. I gag when I brush my teeth…every time,every day! On the pus side…eating a few spoonfuls of coconut oil per day is recommended. so there’s that!

    • April 19, 2014 9:59 pm

      Haha. If you gag brushing your teeth then I would not recommend! Also- I could never imagine actually eating coconut oil. Gross.

      • April 19, 2014 10:25 pm

        It counts if you pop your popcorn it! That’s what I tell myself anyway.

  2. April 19, 2014 10:26 pm

    Well, thanks for that interesting story. My cousin Beth pulls (is that the corret term?) daily. I keep coconut oil in the house because I whip it with a mixer and slather it on my skin. It’s also helpful for dry hair. I’ve been trying to get up the nerve to swish it in my mouth, and I thought I was close to trying a spoonful. Now. I just don’t know. Clearly, research is required.

    • April 19, 2014 11:23 pm

      I use it for hair and skin too! Maybe I’m just weird about texture. Mary Lynn seemed to have no issues with the whole swishing thing. To each their own I guess.

Leave a Reply

