Skip to content

The White Girl Tries to Shake It

July 22, 2014

Remember way back to the beginning of the summer, back before May was even over yet, when I listed off some goals for the summer? Yeah well, I finally completed the first goal on my list: go to a zumba class. I know what you’re thinking. Yes, this was the ‘cool’ thing to do, like a million years ago, before things like pitch back cycling classes and barre workouts took front stage. Somehow, I never seemed to get around to zumba when it was popular and yet there I was about two hours ago…at my local Y with the strangest mix of people: middle aged moms, beefy soccer player-esque girls, workout fanatic grandmothers, and even a decently obese lady (you go girl).

I lifted weights before, but this was my cardio of the day, so I was determined to make it worth it. When leader lady did a deep squat, I did a deeper squat. When leader lady bounced, I bounced higher. Granted, I was always a sure 3 seconds behind her as I struggled to find my footing and coordinate my feet (when you’re hopping around a lot, it’s actually really easy to forget that you need to have at least one foot holding your body up). I was not gifted with this wonderful thing called coordination that allows your arms, feet, and head to move in different directions at once. As far as I could tell though, the point was to keep moving and get your heart rate up while doing jumping squats, etc. If you had a rough day today, you should have showed up with a cocktail and just watched me…I’m sure it was hilarious.

I’m not going to lie…I was kind of expecting it to be hokey and a so-so workout. Maybe it was just because I pushed myself rather hard, but after the 45 minutes of non stop movement were over, I was sweating more than I do on most runs. The class ended with a round of applause (something I’ve learned that is common after dance classes) and I jogged home, tired but feeling more energetic than when I arrived. 

I’m not sure I can fit it into my schedule twice a week (when it’s offered) but I’m definitely going to randomly go to the classes to switch up my cardio routine a bit.

Happy Dancing,

signature

ps. Next up…my new sweet tooth addiction: healthy chocolate pudding

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

