Skip to content

Confession: I made food from a kit

November 13, 2014

You heard that right…I bought a box meal and made a dinner from it. I know a lot of ya’ll are thinking, “so what? I make box dinners on the reg.” But I don’t. I’m the kind of person that forgets that pie crust can actually be bought and not made from scratch. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t cook five course gourmet dinners every day, but I do try to use as much whole food and the least amount of processed food as possible. So what happened this time? Laziness. And the fact that I didn’t want to buy a million tortillas to only use 6 (and then spend the rest of the week trying to find 100 different ways to use tortillas). But really, laziness.

I’ll admit that I had planned to make sweet potato and black bean enchiladas when I walked down the Mexican aisle of the grocery store and ran across an actual enchilada kit. I was super intrigued, even though the voice in my head was all ‘processed!!!’ ‘unhealthy!!!’ and that’s when I was like, ‘yeah whatever, voice in my  head…I’m going for it.” And wouldn’t you know…I’m still alive. Here’s how I made ‘em:

The day before, my husband had roasted onion and sweet potatoes and we had a decent amount left over. I just made sure the aforementioned was cut up well and I added a can of black beans to the mix. I also added the ‘seasoning mix’ that was in the kit. The box suggests chicken or ‘even beef!’ but you can really use any veggies or meats that you have hanging around.

Next I used the filling to fill the tortillas provided. The provided enchilada sauce was drizzled on everything, along with some fake cheese and the oven took care of the rest. To top everything off, I cut up fresh cilantro and avocado (not shown) to add to the cooked enchiladas. All in all, pretty delicious.

 20141103_152953 

Just the filling and the tortillas pre-saucing.

20141103_153013

Close up

20141103_153208 

Sauce and ‘cheese’ have been added

20141103_153226

The dinner kit I used

I guess I was so hungry that I never got an after picture of the end result…but it pretty much looked the same, except with melted cheese and some awesome green toppings. It was a super easy way to make dinner, and I’d imagine it would be convenient to keep one of these kits in your pantry for nights when you want to cook something legit (ie: not peanut butter and jelly or cereal…again) and you have some leftovers to use up. Something I would do again, but because of my previously mentioned health nut tendencies, probably not too often.

Happy Chowing Down!

Bucky

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

