Skip to content

How to Prepare Mushrooms for People Who Hate Mushrooms

February 25, 2015

I admit, I’m not a big mushroom fan. Whenever I tell people that, they collectively make confused faces and one brave soul will make a comment along the lines of, “…but, but…you’re a vegan.” Yes, and if it surprises you that not all vegans love mushrooms, you may also be surprised to find out that not all gay people have a weird affinity toward rainbows and the color purple. Just think about it.

The reason I stopped eating meat to begin with was because the texture was so revolting. To me, mushrooms have that same chewy, meaty sort of texture that I try to avoid. To incorporate mushrooms into my diet, I usually chop them so finely that you can’t really tell they’re mushrooms or puree them into a paste for ravioli. It wasn’t until a week or two ago that I discovered a way to make mushrooms that I can actually tolerate (although some chopping is involved still).

It all began when I substituted mushrooms for tofu in my usual fried tofu recipe. I like tofu, but I try to limit processed foods as much as possible and I decided to see if mushrooms would be a good substitute. I chopped the mushrooms and then lightly pan fried them twice over adding soy sauce and nutritional yeast the second time. It’s so easy, and yet. so. amazing. I’ve literally eaten mushrooms this way in about two meals a week since then.

Don’t be thrown off by the soy sauce addition. Just because the mushrooms are prepared in soy sauce doesn’t mean they have to be added to only Asian dishes. The soy sauce adds a nice salty flavored and I’ve added these mushrooms to: tacos, pasta, sandwiches, home fries, and stir fries to name a few.

Last night, I made mushrooms to add to a veggie lentil dish I whipped up. Here are the pictures I took along the way:

20150224_171846

These were my mushrooms of choice. Portabellas are high in vitamin D, which is not only good for you, but it’s a handy little nutrient that helps keep the winter blues and SAD away.

 20150224_171834

Chopped mushrooms getting fried lightly on high in extra virgin olive oil. You’ll notice that the sides will begin to get crispy. And, sorry, your stove top will get a little messy in the process.

20150224_171949 

This is right after adding the soy sauce. I usually put in several tablespoons, although I never actually measure. I don’t have a picture of the completed shrooms (sorry, I was hungry and they were delicious) but they should fully absorb any liquids and by crispy around the outsides. When they are just about finished, add several tablespoons of nutritional yeast and stir (nut yeast + soy sauce gives an almost cheesy flavoring).

20150224_171943 

My partners in crime. As long as your kitchen has these…thou shalt not want.

I know this sounds crazy,  but these are even super delicious in mashed potatoes. Start by making a half or quarter container of mushrooms to test it out. Then slowly add them into different meals. Who knows, you may get someone who hates mushrooms to not only eat them, but enjoy them.

Happy Eating!

Bucky

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

