Skip to content

From Old Blanket to Cape: An Upcycling Project

March 13, 2015

A little bit ago (aka: longer than I would like to admit) a good friend texted me this picture with a message along the lines of ‘bought a vintage blanket…do you think we could make this with it??’

Stella McCartney blue and red striped cape, because a girl can never have too many capes!

Sometime in February I got my hands on the blanket, but not before her dog had a chance to snack on it. Consequently, there was a nice sized hole right in the middle of the stripe pattern. Although the hole presented a design challenge, the dog had the last laugh, because it ended up with a nice matching coat to sport alongside my friend.

Unfortunately, I started taking pictures of the process AFTER I cut up the blanket, so I don’t have any pics of the original blanket as a whole (or, as whole as it could be after a dog attacked it). The blanket was vintage wool and had been repaired several times, hence the weird pink patches. I kind of liked the pink patches, so I did what I could to keep them in the design.

Here’s a little bit of the process:

DSC_0908 DSC_0909

Due to the hole, the striped area couldn’t be any wider than you see it here. I had to insert side panels because without them, it was feeling a little bit lot like a straight jacket.

DSC_0911   DSC_0914 

The wool of this blanket was pretty heavy, so finishing the ends without making them look bulky was definitely a challenge (I had to use a heavy duty leather needle just to sew the seams together). I ended up using some scraps from the blue stripe to create an edging. It ended up looking a little crafty and moderately homeless…but in the best way possible.

DSC_0916  DSC_0918 DSC_0919

On the mannequin before I finished all the edging.

DSC_0920 DSC_0922

A few messy studio selfies were totally needed. I just happened to be wearing jeans and one of my husband’s button down oxfords that day and I actually really liked the outfit as a whole. I’d roll up the jeans a touch and add my brown Simple tennis shoes and totally wear this while doing errands around town.

DSC_0921  DSC_0923

I would love to be able to get all the previous owners of this blanket together to see it now. How many great stories would come from that?? (I’m mentally filing that idea under ‘future creative projects’)

 DSC_0925 DSC_0926

I had a super narrow strip of fabric left over…which was just enough to make a dog coat (kind of). Because it really doesn’t get better than having a matching cape for your dog too. (side note: in case you’re wondering how this thing stays on…these pics are before I added D rings to the straps.

If the weather stays warm like it has been the last few days, the cape may be set aside until the Fall (which, good news! capes are totally a hot item this coming Fall). Or…if you’re lucky, you might just get to see a fabulous Instagram of my friend and her pooch all decked out. We’ll see. 🙂

Happy Friday,

Bucky

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2015 7:28 am

    Love it! And think the edging/side seams make it! xxx

Leave a Reply

