Skip to content

Dove does it again with the new #choosebeautiful campaign

April 9, 2015

Who doesn’t love a feel good commercial? We all know of Dove’s past campaigns of women’s empowerment and they’re back at it again with a new video complete with hashtag. As part of the #choosebeautiful campaign, women have to choose whether to enter malls through the ‘Beautiful’ door or the ‘Average’ door. A considerable number of women choose the ‘average’ door- and there’s really no surprise there. I mean, I’ve seen the other Dove ads. It’s not like there’s going to be some crazy plot twist highlighted by suspenseful orchestra music.

The thing that did catch me off guard- the fact that I started crying halfway through the video. I’m not a crier. Tragic things happen and I’m like your parents when you were a child and did something naughty- very, very disappointed and saddened. But I don’t usually cry. I think the part that got me, was when I saw friends, moms, and loved ones pulling the people they are with through the beautiful door and away from the average door. Sometimes we are the only people who don’t recognize how beautiful, intelligent, creative, and wonderful we really are.

When I started my image company last year, one of my main goals was to make sure that people knew my intentions. I wasn’t out to tell people that they dressed like slobs, needed to adhere to a certain weight, and weren’t fashionable enough. My goal was, and still is, helping people to the very best versions of themselves. We all have qualities about ourselves that we love and that we hate. I help you accept the ones you think are subpar (spoiler- they’re usually not as bad as you think they are) and then help you highlight the attributes you love. It’s not about criticism, it’s about encouragement and instilling confidence.

You don’t have to be an image consultant to get on board with the #choosebeautiful campaign. You don’t have to even like fashion, beauty products, or anything else image related. What’s one of the biggest things you can do, in my opinion? Pay someone a genuine compliment. Whether it’s a coworker or complete stranger, we all loved to be told that we are smart, beautiful, and successful. So today, #choosebeautiful and not only strive to see yourself that way, but try to help someone else see themselves as beautiful too, both inside and out.

Enjoy the video!

Happy Wednesday,

Bucky

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

