Skip to content

DIY ‘Do Not Disturb’ Sunhat

April 29, 2015

During my nightly (ok, and morning-ly?) perusing of Pinterest, I ran across this hat from Anthropologie and I fell in love immediately. As someone who loves to sit on the beach and not talk to anyone for great lengths of time this is PERFECT. Less perfect? The $435 price tag. So I did what any good crafty person would do and I made my own. Here’s how you can make one too in only 2 steps:

Step one: Gather your supplies.

DSC_0185

You need: a sunhat (mine was on clearance at Walmart for $2!!), craft glue, scissors, a pencil or pen, and about 2-3 yards of black sequins.

Step 2: Write it out and glue it down

DSC_0187DSC_0188

Depending on how comfortable you are with your spelling/handwriting you can pencil an outline on the hat, or just use the glue to write out your words. The pencil wasn’t really showing up on my hat, so I just applied the glue one word at a time. After you draw the glue out, place the sequin strand on top.

That’s it!! This whole DIY took me about 15-20 minutes (and most of that was spent looking for my supplies)

DSC_0189DSC_0210

Trying my new hat out! It would also be funny to create one that reads ‘tourist at work’.

DSC_0214

My hat is going to be absolutely perfect to wear with my new swimsuit during my upcoming beach trip. Sunscreen is a most also.

DSC_0215DSC_0216

I’m really happy with the way this turned out. It was incredibly easy to make and I actually like it more than the original. DIY success.

Happy Creating!!

-Bucky

No comments yet

Leave a comment