Skip to content

Wes Anderson Movie Night

August 1, 2015

It’s Saturday night, and thanks to a thanks to a crazy night last night chaperoning a youth group lock-in (read: not sleeping), I’ll be sticking pretty close to home this evening. While everyone else gets dressed up for dinner and drinks, I’ll be ordering a pizza and slipping into some sweatpants (just kidding. I don’t own sweatpants. I do however, have several pair of themed flannel pajamas…so there’s that).

I’m not a movie person, however, there are some movies that I just love and can’t get enough of. My two favorites in that category would be Dr. Dolittle (the original) and Harvey. I guess I just have something for films made in the mid 1900’s.

Doctor Dolittle (1967) PosterHarvey (1950) Poster

I’m venturing away from old classics tonight, though, and moving on to another loved collection of movies: Wes Anderson films. If you have no idea who Wes Anderson is, maybe this list will jog your memory—>

The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)

The Grand Budapest Hotel Poster.jpg

 

Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

Moonrise Kingdom FilmPoster.jpeg

 

Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)

Fantastic mr fox.jpg

 

The Darjeeling Limited (2007)

Darjeeling Limited Poster.jpg

 

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004)

Lifeaquaticposter.jpg

 

The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

The Tenenbaums.jpg

 

FYI- I only included movies that Wes Anderson wrote, produced, and directed. Now the hard choice is to pick one for tonight. I love his style and the newer movies just keep get more and more Wes Andersony, so I’m leaning towards the Grand Budapest. Any way I choose though, I can’t go wrong. If you’re interested in what makes his films so unique (or what ‘Wes Andersony’ actually means), Andy Crump over at Screenrant wrote a great blog post entitled, ‘A beginner’s Guide to Wes Anderson Movies’.

Which movie would you choose to watch? Do you have a favorite Wes Anderson film? I’d love to hear!

Cheers,

Bucky

 

Side note: How fabulous would it be to have a Wes Anderson themed party and have all the guests show up as a character from one of the films? I’ll have to file that away under ‘parties to plan’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

